

## Independent, locally owned and operated!

www.lamorindaweekly.com 925-377-0977

Published July 8th, 2009

## Fourth of July Blasts Off with Run

Submitted By Elizabeth Faoro



Chris Vizcaino, a former Campolindo Cross Country runner, won the race with a record-breaking time of 24:47. The previous record was 25:54 held by Justin Pines from the race in 2006. Photo Craig Issacs

While most people spend the Fourth of July relaxing by the lake or pool, last weekend around 300 people chose to participate in a run that supported the local high school. Collegiate Campolindo alumni, families, friends, and classmates used the Moraga Fourth of July Race to kick off the holiday and followed it up with a pancake breakfast. The annual fundraiser for the Campolindo High School Cross Country and Track and Field Teams was very successful. Local businesses and families donated \$4,400 and each runner paid a nominal registration fee. All earnings, minus the cost of expenses, went to the team. The race enjoyed strong community participation and provided an opportunity for all ages and abilities to join in the fun. Participants ran either a two mile or five mile course beginning in the center of town on Moraga Road south of Moraga Commons and finished on the Moraga/ Lafayette trail just west of the Commons. The course was modified this year to include the Moraga/Lafayette Trail and was certified for distance.

Campolindo High School is able to facilitate athletic excellence on the trails, on the track, and in the field through the participation of the community of athletes of

all ages, and with the support and generosity of sponsors.

In 2008 the Campolindo Boys Cross Country finished second in the State with a school record team time of 79:45 while the girls team added to their long streak of top ten finishes. This past spring both Campolindo Boys and Girls Track and Field Teams were crowned League champions.



Junior runner Photo Ed Katibah

2 Mile Race 10 and Under			5 Mile Race 18 and Under		
1st	Eric Sweeney	Jenna Miles	fat:	Dylan Laucher	Emily Martin
2nd	Spencer Giplio	Kierra Krawel	2nd	Nate Cox	Nathalie Lámbrech
Sed :	Matthew Ringquist	Jessica Forworthy	3rd	Tim Baffi	Marrissa Boocher
11-18			19-39		
1st	Bradley Miler	Grace Orders	165	Chris Vizcaino	Emily Moran
2nd	Darren Brodowy	Sara Orders	2nd	Harian Lopez	Jennifer Overeti
3rd	Jake Cucarola	Mary Orders	3rd	Toney Olson	Renee Hitchcock
19-39			40-49		
fait.	Michael Falcone	Megan Caldwell	Tet:	Wayne Verdon	Diane Bathchelor
2nd	Henry King	Grace Brennan	2nd	Chris Havel	Kristin Brunson
3rd	Drew Johnson	Melanie Anderson	348	Francisco Vera	Petra Lemelin
40.49			50-59		
161	Jm Parsons	Kjersten Harvey	Tell	Jeff Zimmerman	Christine Chapon
2nd	Eugene Tuan	Kerri Orders	2nd	Woody Tausend	Karen Reed
3rd	Bruce Jamgotchian	Kathy Franklin	3rd	Tom Ford	Carrie Dem
50-64			60-69		
1st	Mark Orders	Yoli Whipp	tet	Scott Anderson	Lucina Verazza
2nd	Jim Van Heuit	Janice Kjell	2nd	Stan Oberg	Maryln Phillips
3rd	Al Tappe	Pam Anderson	3rd	Bob Merritt	
65+			70+		
tst	John Salemne	Penny Salemne	Tet	Jim Floyd	

2009 Moraga Fourth of July Race winners:

Reach the reporter at: <a href="mailto:info@lamorindaweekly.com">info@lamorindaweekly.com</a>

Copyright (C) Lamorinda Weekly, Moraga CA