Google Custom
CivicLifeSportsSchoolsBusinessFoodOur HomesLetters/OpinionsCalendar

Published January 1st, 2014
Fall-Sport Lamorinda Athletes Earn All-DFAL Honors
Compiled by C. Mitchell
Photo Gint Federas
After a dominant fall season, Lamorinda athletes were recognized as the best in the Diablo Foothill Athletic League.

In girls' tennis, Lamorinda sent two teams, Acalanes and Miramonte, to the NCS. Top individual athletes earned DFAL awards.
First Team:
Isabella Von Ebbe, Acalanes
Taylor James, Miramonte
Hannah Ross, Campolindo
Holly Bohuslav/Merrick Goodman, Miramonte
Second Team:
Tessa Karagocev, Acalanes
Jennifer Stanten, Miramonte
Riley Eversole, Miramonte
Katja Brewer/Tori Kallerud, Campolindo
Cece Andrews/Katie Hawkins, Miramonte
Honorable Mention:
Jenny Leserman, Campolindo
Anjali Majumdar, Miramonte
Melissa Van Pell, Acalanes

Campolindo again reigned in girls' volleyball. The Cougars went to the NCS finals and advanced to the State Championship. Kelley Wirth was named DFAL Most Valuable Player.
First Team:
Kristen Sibley, Campolindo
Anne Doyle, Campolindo
Molly Dalziel, Acalanes
Maddie Goodreault, Miramonte
Kacey Sorenson, Miramonte
Second Team:
Maddy Miller, Miramonte
Lizzie Fabian, Miramonte
Rachel Cox, Acalanes
Natalie Meniktas, Campolindo
Honorable Mention:
Katie Nall, Acalanes
Mackenzie Brown, Campolindo
Emily Fabian, Miramonte

In water polo, Campolindo, both boys' and girls' teams, won NCS titles this year. Miramonte was hot on their tails, both boys' and girls' finished second in the NCS behind their Lamorinda rivals. Grant Sivesind and Annika Jensen of Campolindo earned Most Valuable Player. Cougars' Maddi Tagg was named Outstanding Goalie.
First Team:
Tommy Bush, Acalanes
Jordan Hoover, Miramonte
Dylan Fara, Campolindo
Tyler Kirchberg, Miramonte
Clay Smudsky, Miramonte
Spencer Tagg, Campolindo
Hannah Buck, Campolindo
Emily Byrne, Miramonte
Katie Caron, Miramonte
Dominique Clark, Miramonte
Kristen Hong, Miramonte
Hannah Kresnak, Acalanes
Chase Lanier, Acalanes
Natalie Seidermann, Campolindo
Second Team:
Nick Coufal, Miramonte
Garrett Felix, Campolindo
Grayson Judge, Miramonte
Ryan McCraken, Acalanes
Tucker Stone, Acalanes
Trevor Whitsitt, Miramonte
Scott Zurnacian, Campolindo
Reilly Fellner, Acalanes
Nicola Gonzales, Miramonte
Rachael Lewin, Campolindo
Shannon Moran, Miramonte
Brooke Presten, Campolindo
Ellyn Stewart, Acalanes
Honorable Mention:
Brendon Supple, Acalanes
Yurii Hanley, Campolindo
Jack Garrett, Miramonte
Emma Myall, Acalanes
Kari Jensen, Campolindo
Lauren Paxton, Miramonte

Cross country athletes from each school were recognized for their top accomplishments, including Aidan Goltra, who finished first in the state.
First Team:
Aidan Goltra, Campolindo
Cameron Gaskell, Acalanes
Charlie Zamanian, Miramonte
Michael Wang, Acalanes
Ben Weinberg, Campolindo
Brighie Leach, Campolindo
Mary Orders, Campolindo
Sarah Cella, Campolindo
Rachel Johnson, Campolindo
Second Team:
Parker Lothamer, Campoindo
Nathaniel Sauerberg, Campolindo
Sid Bagga, Miramonte
Miles McCaulou, Miramonte
Kevin Buckley, Campolindo
Andrew Lewis, Miramonte
Sammy Taketa, Acalanes
Robin Powell, Campolindo

Lamorinda sent three football teams to the post season, including Miramonte, who won the Division II NCS championship.
First Team:
Drew Anderson, Miramonte, QB
Rene Clark, Miramonte, RB
Peter Mitchell, Acalanes, RB
Phillip Rei, Campolindo, WR
Will Fuller, Miramonte, WR
Dominic Paoletti, Miramonte, WR
Robbie Stern, Acalanes, WR
Tyler Petite, Campolindo, TE
Bennett Stehr, Miramonte, T
Daniel Samaniego, Campolindo, T
Kris Booze, Miramonte, G
Will Simmons, Campolindo, G
Isaac Christian, Campolindo, UTL
Cristian Antezana, Campolindo, K
Peter Golesorkhi, Campolindo, DL
Kris Booze, Miramonte, DL
Tom Hofmeister, Acalanes, DL
Isaac Christian, Campolindo, LB
John Lauth, Acalanes, LB
Bennett Stehr, Miramonte, LB
Jonathan McDonald, Miramonte, LB
Rene Clark, Miramonte, DB
Andrew Ahazie, Campolindo, DB
Brett Merrill, Acalanes, DB
Justin Dunn, Campolindo, DB
Second Team:
Andrew Zolintakis, Campolindo, QB
Nick Fadelli, Campolindo, RB
Justin Dunn, Campolindo, WR
Andrew Bosshart, Acalanes, WR
Brady Aiello, Acalanes, T
Alec Bizieff, Miramonte, C
Drew Rule, Acalanes, C
Jack O'Donnell, Campolindo, DL
Tommy Kresnak, Acalanes, LB
Adam Remotto, Campolindo, LB
Conner Wong, Miramonte, DB
Kevin Lehman, Campolindo, DB
Tiger Garcia, Campolindo, DB
Honorable Mention:
Casey Harrington, Acalanes, QB
Conner McNally, Campolindo, RB
Hunter Rosenbaum, Campolindo, WR
Brian Chaney, Campolindo, C
John Lauth, Acalanes, Utl
Kyle Visher, Miramonte, K
Chad Johnson, Acalanes, K
Justin Dunn, Campolindo, P
Rohit Verma, Campolindo, DL
Terrance Frank, Miramonte, DL
Kyle Kinnear, Acalanes, DL
Jack Shurtz, Campolindo, LB
Clayton Stehr, Miramonte, LB
Jared Finney, Acalanes, LB
Phillip Rei, Campolindo, DB
Ryan Anderson, Miramonte, DB
Andrew Bosshart, Acalanes, DB

For the third consecutive year, Acalanes senior Elizabeth Schultz earned Most Valuable Player honors in girls' golf. Other Lamorinda golfers recognized include Tori Hoff of Miramonte and Adrienne Lee of Acalanes. Both golfers earned First-Team honors. Second-teamers included Arielle Caronna of Miramonte and Emily Attiyeh of Acalanes.

Photo Gint Federas
Photo Andy Scheck
Photo Gint Federas
Photo Gint Federas
Photo Gint Federas
Photo Gint Federas
Photo Andy Scheck
Photo Gint Federas
Photo Gint Federas

print story

Before you print this article, please remember that it will remain in our archive for you to visit anytime.
download pdf
(use the pdf document for best printing results!)

Send your comment to:
Reach the reporter at:

Quick Links for LamorindaWeekly.com
send artwork to:
Classified ads
Lamorinda Service Directory
About us and How to Contact us
Letter to the Editor
Send stories or ideas to:
Send sports stories and photos to:
Subscribe to receive a delivered or mailed copy
Subscribe to receive storylinks by email
Our Homes

Copyright Lamorinda Weekly, Moraga CA