Custom Search
CivicLifeSportsSchoolsBusinessFoodOur HomesLetters/OpinionsCalendar

Published August 13th, 2014
Candidate Slates Take Shape

As Aug. 8 came and went, so did the cut-off to file papers to be a candidate in the November election. The election code reads in part: "If nomination papers for an incumbent elective officer are not filed by the filing deadline, the filing period for that office is extended 5 calendar days for non-incumbents only." Several of Lamorinda's incumbents did not file; the extended deadline for non-incumbents is 5 p.m. on Aug. 13.
Note: The information below is current as of Aug. 8 - it's possible that additional contenders threw their hats in the ring after press deadline. For updated information, visit http://www.cocovote.us/campaigns/candidate-filing.

Lafayette and AUHSD:
Familiar and new names on November ballot

Lafayette will see some familiar names on the ballot for local offices, along with a few new ones. All of the races below are non-partisan and unpaid. Don't forget to vote on Election Day - Tuesday, Nov. 4.
The Lafayette City Council has two open seats and the two incumbents, Don Tatzin and Brandt Andersson, are the only ones running for those seats.
The Acalanes Union High School District governing board has three openings for the traditional four-year term and one opening for a short term, two-year position. There are four candidates vying for the four year term: incumbent school board members Susan Epstein and Nancy Kendzierski, along with two newcomers, parent/volunteer Kristen Correll and retired teacher Robert Hockett. Incumbent Richard Whitmore is the only one running for the short term seat.
The Lafayette School District, which represents Stanley Middle School and the city's four elementary schools, has three seats open and three folks interested. Two are incumbents, Teresa Gerringer and David Gerson, along with newcomer Suzy Pak. Incumbent Art Kapoor isn't running, which means the deadline for filing was extended.
C. Tyson

Moraga: Council race set; only one school board incumbent files
Look for sizeable turnover on the Moraga School District governing board - with four seats open, three of the four incumbents are not running for re-election. Incumbent Parker Colvin will be joined on the ballot by newcomers Heather O'Donnell (parent and marketing consultant) and Jonathan Nickens (community volunteer). The deadline for filing was extended.
There are three candidates for the two open seats on the Moraga Town Council.
Incumbents Ken Chew and David Trotter are seeking re-election. Challenger Teresa Onoda currently serves on the Moraga Planning Commission.
"I want to become a council member to protect Moraga's unique character," said Onoda. "Many new housing developments are being proposed and these have implications not only for our unblemished ridgelines but also for potential classroom overcrowding, increased traffic loads on our streets, and safety. The town council needs to address these issues in a comprehensive manner, not separately without seeing how each affects the other," she explained.
Chew stated, "I have been privileged to serve as your mayor and council member. With your vote, I will continue strong leadership to preserve and enhance our unique quality of life in Moraga, protect our semi-rural environment through thoughtful and sensible growth, and ensure enforcement of the General Plan policies and Moraga Open Space Ordinance."
"Serving as mayor and council member since 2006, I've worked hard to make sensible decisions in the public interest," said Trotter. "There are still things that I'd like to get accomplished. I ask for your continued support and vote in November."
S. Braccini

Orinda: Three incumbents elect not to run in November
In 2014, there were two members of the Severson family heading two of Orinda's major civic governing bodies. After the ball drops in Times Square on New Year's Eve, neither will be in office. Although Orinda mayor Sue Severson and Dr. Chris Severson, current president of the Orinda Union School District's board of trustees, both "pulled papers" - the process by which candidates obtain the requisite paperwork to have their names placed on the ballot - neither filed that paperwork by the deadline.
"When I was elected eight years ago, that was my intention from the beginning," said Sue Severson of her decision not to seek another four years. "I'm not saying it's true for everyone, but I just feel like two terms are enough to bring your strengths and perspectives to whatever board you're serving on." Severson also cited her desire to spend more time with her 18 grandchildren and cherished volunteer activities that she has had to put to the side due to the demands of life as an elected Orinda official.
OUSD incumbent Tyson Krumholz will also not be on the November ballot.
The filing periods for both the city council and OUSD board contests remain open through today.
There are six candidates for the three open seats on the Orinda City Council. Incumbents Dean Orr and Amy Worth are being challenged by Carlos Baltodano (building safety consultant), Linda Delehunt (education administrator), Eve Phillips (technology entrepreneur), and Bob Thompson (investment adviser).
Four candidates will vie for the three seats on the Orinda Union School District board of trustees - incumbent Juliane Rossiter, Carol A. Brown (children's advocate/manager), Jason Kaune (government ethics attorney), and Hillary Shayne Weiner (education advocate/parent).
Moving forward, Orindans will have at least two chances to hear directly from the candidates regarding their views on key issues. Orinda Association president Bill Waterman has confirmed that the OA plans to conduct two election forum nights in October - one for those vying for city council seats and one for OUSD governing board candidates.
L. Snyder

MOFD: Wyro won't run
John Wyro, president of the Moraga-Orinda Fire District board of directors, will not seek re-election to his Division 4 seat in November.
Wyro was a director of the Orinda Fire District and he was instrumental in the 1997 formation of MOFD. He served as the district's first president.
"I have so much invested in this district that I did not want to take the chance that (my seat) would go to just anybody," said Wyro. "I didn't want to just walk away." When he found out that Brad Barber - who worked on the passage of Measure J, which raised money to fix Orinda roads - filed papers to run for the Division 4 seat, Wyro said he jumped in his car, drove to Barber's house and talked to him about the issues in the district. "I checked with others who knew him," said Wyro. "I was satisfied that he was the right guy."
In Division 1, Moraga venture capitalist Nathan Bell will challenge incumbent Kathleen Famulener. Bell applied to fill the MOFD seat vacated by Frank Sperling in 2013 but the board chose Famulener at a special district meeting.
Steve Anderson will run unopposed for the Division 3 seat.
N. Marnell


print story

Before you print this article, please remember that it will remain in our archive for you to visit anytime.
download pdf
(use the pdf document for best printing results!)
Send your comment to:
Reach the reporter at:

This article was pulished on Page A8 / A9:

Quick Links for LamorindaWeekly.com
send artwork to:
Classified ads
Lamorinda Service Directory
About us and How to Contact us
Letter to the Editor
Send stories or ideas to:
Send sports stories and photos to:
Subscribe to receive a delivered or mailed copy
Subscribe to receive storylinks by email
Our Homes

Copyright Lamorinda Weekly, Moraga CA